Summer Carnitas

You Are What I Eat sweet baby living in my tummy and carnitas are perfect for you right now! I love all things pork and especially carnitas. Right now, we are eating a lot of carnitas since I made a big batch last week. My baby’s getting fat and plump on its journey to come meet me and Stefan. Carnitas will do my baby right!


I usually make my friend, Kelly’s carnitas recipe and it is fantastic to make on the weekend and always turns out perfectly. Make it when you have some time to be home. These are really the best carnitas I have ever eaten.

However, since I got pregnant in the cold winter months, cooking has dropped on my priority list. I continue to not enjoy it and really only get excited about the thought of cooking when I think about experiencing food for the first time through the taste buds of my new little one. I love thinking about that.
We still need to eat and although Stefan cooks almost every night of the week, I want to help out a bit in this area. I came across this recipe and it is perfect for us for 2 reasons.
1. It does not make the house hot. Since it is summer, all I want is to be immersed in a bucket of ice. You could use my ever growing tummy as a cook top; it is hot. Priority #1—stay cool!
2. The smell of cooking pork repulses me. I promise to get this love back after the baby comes but for now, running onto the back deck with my arms flailing and reenacting the gagging reflex for all of our neighbors to see gets old. Priority #2—keep those carnitas down!
Although these carnitas do not blow Kelly’s out of the water, they do provide a perfect solution to keeping the kitchen free of heat and porky smells. To accompany these, throw some dried pinto beans in a pot and cover the beans with about 2 inches of water for 8 hours. Drain and rinse and throw the beans in pot with about 2 inches of water covering them. Bring to boil, turn down to simmer and cook for about 1-2 hours until tender. You can refry these puppies with some lard and you are in for a treat!

Slow-Cooker Carnitas
makes 20-30 taco-sized servings
• 1 (6-8 pound) pork butt, also called pork shoulder
• 2 tablespoons coarse salt
• 1 tablespoon cumin
• 1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
• 1 tablespoon dried oregano
• 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
• 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper, or to taste
• 8 whole cloves garlic, smashed
• 4 chipotle peppers (canned or dried)
• 1 cup tomato juice
• 1 cup orange juice

Here’s how to make it:
Trim excess fat from the meat and discard. Place all ingredients in the slow-cooker. Set to cook on LOW for 8 hours. Meat is done when it literally falls off the bone. When cool enough to handle, lift the meat from the juices and place in a large bowl. Remove the bone, then shred the meat.
Skim the fat from the juices and keep as a medium for re-heating the meat.
For carnitas tacos, reheat the meat and serve in corn tortillas with sour cream, cilantro, chopped red onion and lime wedges.

On a different note.

26 Weeks in Oregon Wine Country

26 Weeks in Oregon Wine Country


Here are some photos of my belly. I really like being pregnant and especially love watching Stefan try and figure out which body parts he is seeing. I love taking naps. I like bumping into walls and spilling things. I love waking up in the morning to hear Stefan tell me stories of how he fell asleep to the baby kicking him. I love going to bed early while we are camping and listening to my friends talk around the camp fire.

I love knowing what the name of our baby is going to be—boy or girl. I like bending down to get ice cream from the freezer only to discover I need help bending down. And, I especially love imagining the mix of Stefan and I and how that will all turn out. I think s/he will be perfect. But, then, I am a bit biased.

20 Weeks in the Sunshine

4 responses to “Summer Carnitas

  1. those carnitas are making me hungry.

  2. Oh Kelly! Your belly has gotten so BIG!! I’m excited for you guys. We need to hang out again soon. 🙂 – Lisa

  3. You are an adorable pregnant woman! Usually adorable in your own Kelly way, but this baby adds a little bit more! I love trying different carnitas recipes. Thanks! Slow cookers in the summer. Who would have thunk it? Thanks for posting this pictures of you. Love it and I can’t wait to feed Little O some grub. He/she is going to be a very good eater.

  4. Thanks for reminding me to cook bean. God, I love beans. Maybe some of that guac and tortillas to go with. Did you take that food picture? It looks like it is from a magazine!

    You look awesome. I wish I could see that little belly!

Leave a Reply

